I need you!

Have you been involved in productions of Two Noble Kinsmen, Pericles, or King John? Or have you got plans to be involved in productions of any of these plays in the next year or so? (Involvement either as actor, director, adapter, or audience member). If so I want to hear from you!

See original image

Productions big or small, I’m interested.

Productions with burgeoning archives, or amateur takes on these early modern plays, I’d love to hear from you all. I’m particularly keen to hear from productions that might otherwise go unrecorded.

A bit of context as to why I’m interested. In my doctoral thesis I want to capture recent productions of the plays I’m talking about in a ‘plays in performance’ style section. This won’t simply involve a relaying of the performance history of the plays, but it will also offer a consideration of recent productions, their directorial choices, and a discussion of the audience reception of these productions. I hope to foster a lively dialogue between past and present, theory and practice and through a consideration of a range of recent productions I hope this will not only enliven the thesis but also act as a time capsule and archive productions, responses, and moments which might otherwise remain only in living memory.

So, if you or anyone you know has been involved in Pericles, King John, or Two Noble Kinsmen, or you’ve been to see any of the plays yourself, please do get in touch. I’m interested in everything you’ve got to say about the productions from interval thoughts or even your review, to snapshots (if the show allowed it) of your favourite parts or recordings of a production you directed. Just drop me a line at sarah.waters-2015@brookes.ac.uk. I look forward to hearing from you!

About Sarah Waters

I'm a PhD student at Oxford Brookes University researching female melancholia in Early Modern medicine, drama, and its resonances with our understanding of female depression today. I also have research interests in Shakespeare, Renaissance literature, Children's Literature, CS Lewis, and The Inklings.
This entry was posted in Early Modern Drama, Shakespeare, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

